Connect with us

Company News

Four ASTC board members elected by membership

Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee Inc. (ATSC) elected four media and technology executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms that begin in January 2023.

Richard Friedel of Broadcast Advocates LLC completes both his first term and position as board chair this month.  Friedel, former Fox Television executive vice president, has been re-elected for a second three-year term. The board will elect the 2023 Chair at its first meeting of the new year.  Also elected to the ATSC Board are former directors Adam Goldberg of Sony Electronics, Anne Schelle of Pearl TV, and John Taylor of LG Electronics.

ATSC’s five founding organizations (NAB, CTA, NCTA, IEEE and SMPTE) each year appoint their representatives to the ATSC Board.  This year two of these organizations will appoint new representatives. IEEE is naming Dr. Yiyan Wu of Canada’s Communications Research Centre. SMPTE is anticipated to announce their representative in the coming weeks.

ATSC thanks board members who are completing their terms at the end of 2022:  Dr. Jong Kim of the Zenith R&D Lab at LG Electronics, Glenn Reitmeier of GlennReitmeierTV LLC, Pete Sockett of Capitol Broadcasting, David Siegler representing SMPTE, and Wayne Luplow representing IEEE.

“We are quite fortunate to have a board of seasoned executives from the broadcast, cable and consumer technology industries who provide our organization with a wealth of experience to help ATSC steer through ongoing change and growth.  ATSC is working to anticipate the needs of our members and the industry, supported by our board’s strategic direction. I’d like to thank outgoing board members Jong Kim, Wayne Luplow, Glenn Reitmeier, Dave Siegler, and Pete Sockett for their service, as we work together to both develop new standards and promote their advantages,” said ATSC President Madeleine Noland.

“It’s been a tradition for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, better known as IEEE, to alternate between Dr. Wu and longtime LG/Zenith technologist Wayne Luplow as their representative on the board.  We’re delighted to welcome Yiyan back to the board, and I want to especially thank Wayne, who is retiring after many years of service to ATSC.  Wayne’s leadership goes all the way back to the 1980s, when ATSC was formed; he served on the original Executive Committee of ATSC, even before the current board structure existed, and later also served as ATSC Board Chair.  We are truly indebted to his steady and productive service,” Noland said.

ATSC also gratefully acknowledges current board members whose terms continue in 2023:

  • Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcast Group;
  • Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB);
  • Mark Corl, Triveni Digital;
  • Jim DeChant, Amazon;
  • Fred Engel, PBS North Carolina;
  • Jon Fairhurst, Samsung;
  • Brett Jenkins, Nexstar Media Group;
  • Brian Markwalter, Consumer Technology Association;
  • Andy Scott, NCTA – The Internet and Television Association.

BCS Bureau

Copyright © 2023.Broadcast and Cablesat

error: Content is protected !!