Connect with us

Headlines Of The Day

Eurosport India set to broadcast the inaugural Grand Prix Badminton League

Eurosport India has acquired the broadcasting rights for the Inaugural Grand Prix Badminton League (GPBL). The 2022 edition of the league will commence from the 12th of August till the 21st of August 2022 and will be played in Bengaluru.

Eight teams representing different cities of Karnataka will have over 64 players from across the state under the mentorship of national badminton superstars including the likes of two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth, Commonwealth Gold medalist duo of Jwala Gutta & Ashwini Ponappa along with World Championship Bronze Medalist B Sai Praneeth, Thomas Cup winning Team India’s Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy.

Announcing the broadcast partnership, Ruchir Jain, Head of Eurosport India- South Asia, Warner Bros. Discovery, said, “It’s the first time that our top players will be managing a team consisting of budding players and we are very eager to bring that action to the audience in India. GPBL is just a new beginning that is going to go on for a long time and we are glad to be a part of this journey.”

The eight teams competing at the GPBL are viz; Mandya Bulls, Mysore Panthers, Bengaluru Lions, Malnad Falcons, KGF Wolves, Mangalore Sharks, Bundipur Tuskers and Kodagu Tigers consisting of 8 players each.

Prashanth Reddy, CEO Bitsport and League Commissioner of GPBL on partnering up with Eurosport expressed by saying, “Exciting times lie ahead as GPBL is finally set to begin soon. It is a league like never before as we will get to see many new players under the mentorship of Olympics players like Sindhu and other top national badminton players. Eurosport has been a go-to destination for many sports and we found them to be the perfect broadcasting partner for GPBL.” MediaNews4U

Copyright © 2023.Broadcast and Cablesat

error: Content is protected !!